>   >   >   >  The Left Bank

High-rise Apartment  «  AIMCO
University City, 3131 Walnut St | Philadelphia
Overview
Photos
Amenities
Floorplans

Top Amenities

View All >
  •  24-Hour Front Desk
  •  Cat friendly
  •  Fitness Center
  •  Granite Countertops
  •  Minimum Lease Term  
  •  Oversize or penthouse units
  •  Parking Garage
  •  Resident Lounge  
  •  Rooftop Deck
  •  Short Term Rentals
  •  Stainless Steel Appliances
  •  Washer/Dryer In Unit

User Rating

8.0
Great
58 Reviews

About this Location

MFL (metro) - 8 min
30th Street Station - 13 min
Schuylkill Banks
8 min walk
Lots of bars and
restaurants nearby

Pricing 
updated 15 hrs ago

Studio, 1 Bath
$1,897+
1 Bedroom, 1 Bath
$1,799+
1 Bedroom, 2 Baths
$2,324+
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath
$2,000+
3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths
$4,014+
Schedule Appointment At
(215) 398-1073
  • Building Related

    •  Elevators
  • Convenience

    •  Business Center
    •  Mini Grocery Store
  • Entertainment

    •  Resident Lounge  
    •  Rooftop Deck
  • Kitchen

    •  Dishwasher
    •  Garbage Disposal
    •  Granite Countertops
    •  Microwave
    •  Stainless Steel Appliances
  • Laundry

    •  Washer/Dryer In Unit
  • Lease Terms

    •  Furnished Units Available
    •  Minimum Lease Term  
  • Living Room

    •  Air Conditioning
    •  Wall-to-Wall Carpets
  • Parking & Transportation

    •  Bike Storage
    •  Parking Garage
  • Pet Terms & Amenities

    •  Cat friendly
    •  Pet deposit for cats  
    •  Pet deposit for dogs  
  • Security & Maintenance

    •  24-Hour Front Desk
  • Sports & Fitness

    •  Fitness Center
  • Unique Unit Types

    •  Oversize or penthouse units
X

Overall rating 8.0/10, based on 58 renter reviews

9.1
Location
8.5
Amenities
7.6
Management
7.1
Value
6.8
Social
8.9
Safety
Excellent
26
Great
20
Good
9
Average
2
Terrible
1

The Left Bank reviews and highlights

  • Building staff are some of the nicest, most friendly people in the world
  • Great amenities
  • Central air and heat
  • Wonderful building
  • Safe and clean with a 24 hour doorman
  • Decent gym with lots of cardio equipment
  • Gym is very nice
  • Rooftop deck, conference rooms, large gym, and parking
  • Close to 30th street station
  • On the pricier end, but still a good value
  • Well managed
  • Great location
  • Very spacious apartments with very high ceilings
  • Close to Penn's law school
  • Caters to graduate students and young professionals, but still has a fair number of families and elderly residents
  • Building e-mails you when you receive a package and they will store it for you
Filter reviews for
7
Good
Overall score
Location
Amenities
Management
Value
Social
Safety

The Left Bank Review

Nice apartments, very convenient location

Keep reading
Was this review helpful?
  Yes
  No
Reviewed by
 
  • Roommates
  • 2 beds / 2 baths
1
Terrible
Overall score
Location
Amenities
Management
Value
Social
Safety

Please, don't move here

My husband and I have lived at The Left Bank for 4 years (our entire time in med school). We chose the building due to its proximity to HUP/JMEC and the on-site parking.

Pros: Our apartment is large and the kitchen appliances are new and high-quality. There is an in-building gym with good cardio equipment. The location can't be beat as far as proximity to HUP/CHOP/PCAM. Waterfront Gourmet is on the ground floor and is an awesome deli. There is on-site garage parking.

Cons: Our apartment has flooded repeatedly. First, we were on the second floor (courtyard level) with a patio. It constantly flooded from outside and from our malfunctioning AC unit. When we got back from our honeymoon, our apartment had flooded and our belongings had been left outside on the patio to "dry." We were moved to a unit on the 6th floor. The A/C unit in this apartment still floods. The drainage line is clogged with algae, so the drainage pan continually overflows. Every time it rains, the ceiling also leaks. They have been "repairing" the roof for several months, but the problem continues. They recently replaced all of the conventional locks with "smart locks" that require a key code. This is a much less secure option and there have already been break-ins. Security in the building is non-existent. Maintenance workers have repeatedly let themselves into our apartment without permission, several times when we were in the shower or asleep. At other times, they claim they will come within a given window and then never show. The garage gate is frequently broken and the bars on the gate have recently been bent to let someone through. Management is hostile at best and resents any questions or requests. There is an automated package delivery system that charges $40/day for every day you're late to pick up your packages. The fire alarm goes off at least once a month and is deafeningly loud, to the point where it has given our pet health problems. The building has been one headache after another and we never feel at peace in our own home. The only reason we haven't moved is that it's so convenient to HUP.

Keep reading
Was this review helpful?
  Yes   1
  No
Reviewed by
 
  • Couple
  • Pet owner
  • 1 bed / 1 bath
9
Excellent
Overall score
Location
Amenities
Management
Value
Social
Safety

The Left Bank Review

Great place

Keep reading
Was this review helpful?
  Yes
  No
Reviewed by
 
  • Couple
  • 1 bed / 1 bath
7
Good
Overall score
Location
Amenities
Management
Value
Social
Safety

Love living here!

I have loved living at the Left Bank, particularly given how spacious the apartments are in proportion to the rent - will never find something comparable in Center City! Plus, as a resident, my walk to work is 10-12 minutes, which at any time of day, can't be beat. I also love that are maintenance is super responsive.

Only negatives are that management isn't visible and doesn't communicate well with tenants. Although there are lots of e-mails sent (sometimes too many), they don't inform tenants about upcoming changes to rent, etc. Sometimes these can come as a surprise. Recently, there is also high receptionist turnover. It was nice to walk in and see the same friendly faces!

Keep reading
Was this review helpful?
  Yes
  No
Jun 5, 2018
Comment from George , Guest Services Associate at AIMCO at The Left Bank
Thanks for the detailed feedback! -George
Reviewed by
 
  • Couple
  • 1 bed / 1 bath
9
Excellent
Overall score
Location
Amenities
Management
Value
Social
Safety

Left bank

Great place to live. Clean and safe. 3 block walk to work.24/7 gym, concierge at front desk, package service, and maintenance. Washer dryer and dishwasher all in unit. Full kitchen

Keep reading
Was this review helpful?
  Yes
  No
Jun 5, 2018
Comment from George , Guest Services Associate at AIMCO at The Left Bank
Thanks for the great review! -George
Reviewed by
 
  • 1 bed / 1 bath
9
Excellent
Overall score
Location
Amenities
Management
Value
Social
Safety

Modern and convenient apartment building

The Left Bank has been a lovely place to live for the past 2 years- it is just a 10 minute walk from the hospital, located close to the Schuykill river trail and a 15-20 minute walk from most of Center City. The apartments are large, bright, and modern with high ceilings and big windows and laundry in unit. Gym in the building and roof deck with view of the skyline are both amazing and never crowded. The front desk and maintenance staff are extremely helpful too! Rent is not all that cheap compared to other parts of Philly but the convenience makes it a great place to live during residency.

Keep reading
Was this review helpful?
  Yes
  No
Jun 5, 2018
Comment from George , Guest Services Associate at AIMCO at The Left Bank
Thanks for the great review! -George
Reviewed by
 
  • Roommates
  • 2 beds / 2 baths
10
Excellent
Overall score
Location
Amenities
Management
Value
Social
Safety

Clean!

Clean, very responsive to maintenance requests.

Keep reading
Was this review helpful?
  Yes
  No
Jun 5, 2018
Comment from George , Guest Services Associate at AIMCO at The Left Bank
Thanks for the great review! -George
Reviewed by
 
  • Roommates
  • 3 beds / 2 baths
8
Great
Overall score
Location
Amenities
Management
Value
Social
Safety

Good

No Complaints!

Keep reading
Was this review helpful?
  Yes
  No
Jun 5, 2018
Comment from George , Guest Services Associate at AIMCO at The Left Bank
Thanks for the great review! -George
Reviewed by
 
  • Couple
  • Roommates
  • 2 beds / 2 baths
10
Excellent
Overall score
Location
Amenities
Management
Value
Social
Safety

Awesome Apt.

Love it here!

Keep reading
Was this review helpful?
  Yes
  No
Jun 5, 2018
Comment from George , Guest Services Associate at AIMCO at The Left Bank
Thanks for the great review! -George
Reviewed by
 
  • 1 bed / 1 bath
8
Great
Overall score
Location
Amenities
Management
Value
Social
Safety

Convenient, Spacious Apartment w/ Great Amenities

The Left Bank is great for students, especially 1Ls, because it is a quick walk from the law school. It also provides a lot of amenities that I use a lot (study rooms, gym, rooftop patio). If maintenance issues ever come up they have always been fixed within 24 hours and the staff and management are very nice and accommodating. Note, if you are looking at the building I would make sure you do not sign an apartment on the side that borders the train track (it is very loud) but as long as you ask and are on any of the 3 other sides (or any internal unit with a courtyard view) it is a great place to be!

Keep reading
Was this review helpful?
  Yes   1
  No
Jun 5, 2018
Comment from George , Guest Services Associate at AIMCO at The Left Bank
Thanks for the great review! -George
Reviewed by
 
  • Roommates
  • 2 beds / 2 baths

The Neighborhood

Signature Spots

dining 35 Recs

Walnut Street Cafe
Bridgewater’s Pub
Magic Carpet
See more

grocery 2 Recs

Trader Joe’s
Whole Foods Market
See more

convenience 3 Recs

Old Nelson Food Company
Rite Aid
CVS Pharmacy
See more

fitness 23 Recs

Class of 1923 Ice Rink
The Levy Tennis Pavilion
Penn Campus Recreation
See more

parks 16 Recs

Cira Green
Penn Park
Schuylkill River Dog Run
See more

coffee 20 Recs

OCF Coffee House
Saxbys Coffee
Dunkin’ Donuts
See more

About University City

Sitting west of the Schuylkill River, University City is the scholastic center of West Philadelphia. University City combines the diversity of a college town with the energy of a large metropolitan area. Public parks, farmers markets, restaurants, and theaters, this neighborhood has it all.
Fresh Grocer
College Feel
Very Walkable
Heart of UPenn
Lots of Students
Cheaper than Center City
Solid Restaurants and Bars
Median rents in University City
Studio
$
1,300
1 Bedroom
$
2,200
2 Bedroom
$
2,950

Getting around University City


Parking at The Left Bank

Parking Garage

Parking Near The Left Bank

Parking rates are for informational purposes only and may vary — for most up to date pricing, please reach out to the garage directly.

University City Reviews

85 reviews
My wife & I lived in Center City for a few years before moving across the river here. University City is a ton of fun! Definitely not as many restaurants and bars at each corner, but the ~10 minutes shaved off my commute to HUP / the VA each day makes it well worth it for anyone who works at any of the healthcare sites or at UPenn / Wharton.
Has a down-to-earth vibe with a lot of ethnic diversity (and lots of amazing and cheap food!). Is also convenient to UPenn if you attend school there. Clark Park is also super lovely (with a great farmer's markets throughout most of the year), and there are a ton of adorable dogs around.
There's definitely enough restaurants, bars, and shopping to get you through the week. On the weekends I think it's a lot more fun to head to the Rittenhouse/Center City area, but there's certainly nothing wrong with UCity.
I enjoy living in University City. It is perfect if you want to live in a low key area very close to school. Most people in the area are affiliated with Penn, so the community is generally pretty young and active. You are in walking distance from everything you might need. You do not need a car to get around. Even if you plan on spending a good deal of time in Center City, you can get there easily by rail or by Uber. I wouldn't have chosen to live anywhere else during 1L.
It is really close to campus, so the campus security is always around making the area very safe. The noise level never gets too bad, during class hours there are people everywhere. However after evening classes everything dies down as people are either going home or are inside studying. The closest grocery stores are Fresh Grocers (on 40th street and Walnut) and Trader Joe's (on 21st and Market). Because this is an area that is mostly college campus there are not a lot of social places near by, you typically have to head into center city for most of the good places to socialize.
University City can be fairly noisy due to the students and many nearby hospitals and it lacks the nicer restaurants you find elsewhere in Philadelphia. Grocery shopping is fairly convenient but if you need to buy furnishings for your apartment, you may need to make a special trip elsewhere in the city. The bookstore is convenient but is a bit overpriced and has al limited selection.
Great neighborhood. The area is close to Walnut Street which is full of restaurants, bars, and anything you need really. There are a lot of students in the area and I have always felt safe here.
Nice area, but there have been a fair number of robberies in the neighborhood at night. Though they never occurred in Sansom, I would not walk alone especially as a female at night West of Sansom. As long as you are careful where you are walking and going towards campus or center city you are ok.

Similar apartments & condos

  University City

Studio $1,740
1 Bed $2,350
2 Beds $2,600

Check availability
  Fitler Square

Studio $1,752
1 Bed $2,075
2 Beds $2,873

Check availability
  University City

1 Bed $1,069
2 Beds $2,138
3 Beds $3,207

Check availability
  University City

3 Beds $3,700
4 Beds $3,600

Check availability
  University City

1 Bed $1,100
2 Beds $2,200
  Logan Square

Studio $1,639
1 Bed $1,839
2 Beds $2,277

Check availability